Aloha!

Happy New Year!

Oh my! The month of January is 1/2 over and a busy month so far.  My apologies for this late posting.

2016 ended happily on the beautiful Hawaiian island of Kauai.  My third visit and even though I was there 6 six years ago was surprised that I still knew my way around.  We didn’t do a lot of touristy things – mainly relaxed, ate some delicious foods and plenty of Papaya which is my favorite fruit to indulge in when in Hawaii.  We were there from December 23rd and departed for home on January 1st.  By the time we had to leave we felt ensconced in island living and hated to go back home. The following picture was taken from our hotel room at the Hilton Garden Inn.

kauai-3

I was even able to do some research at a library in Princeville and kudos must be given to the powers that be.  They have done a fine job! Beautiful building that is staffed by great people and so helpful!  My hubby was patient and didn’t mind me sitting and researching but then, of course, he had his laptop as well and was as happy as a clam to do his thing.

princeville-library

Perhaps the best new find this trip was locating a bookstore on the island.  I Googled and found The Bookstore “The Western-Most Bookstore in the United States.” The owners Cynthia and Ed Justis were gracious and helpful. I, of course, walked out with some books for my reading and research pleasure. A little hint: my next book takes place in Kauai so I am busy working on it before I forget all that I saw and want to use in my story.  More next time on this work in progress!

the-bookstore

I am going to conclude this posting with a picture of one of the island residents.  Chickens and roosters are protected on the island.  As one of the results of Hurricane Iniki they were displaced and now roam the island as protected residents.  I love them personally – except when the roosters crow at 5 am every morning! Perfect alarm!

resident-rooster

Aloha!

Leave a Reply

